Final race success for Fallon

The Qatar Goodwood Festival 2020 came to close with the LG Signature Apprentice Handicap over nine furlongs, which went to top-weight and 9/2 joint-favourite Muraad (Owen Burrows/Cieren Fallon).

It was the other 9/2 joint-favourite Overwrite (Mark Johnston/Tom Greatrex) that looked to have the race in the bag as entered the final furlong with a clear lead. However, Fallon got a fine tune out of the Hamdan Al Maktoum-owned Muraad to get up and score by half a length.

Trainer Owen Burrows said: “Brilliant! I said to Cieren, don’t panic. Muraad has led the last twice, but I didn’t want him to get into a fight to try and lead – he had a lot of weight, 10st. He has given him a great ride – a cool head on young shoulders.

“I don’t know whether Muraad quickened or whether he stayed on; this is his first try at a mile and one furlong. On that he will get a mile and a quarter, no problem.

“This is my first winner at Glorious Goodwood. I am just lucky that I’ve got a great team behind me and we have some nice horses.”

Cieren Fallon said: “The race panned out how I predicted.

“A lot of people wanted to be handy and whilst Muraad jumped OK, a lot of other riders pressed forward to get a nice position.

“They were a lot of pace on the race and I took my time on him as they went a strong gallop.

“I had two options of either going round the field or waiting for a gap to come and thankfully one did.

“He burst through the gap and Muraad had a lot of determination.

“He was really game and I would be happy to step him up to a mile and a quarter.

“Hopefully, he can continue his winning ways now.”

5.10pm LG Signature Apprentice Handicap 1m1f

1 Muraad – Owen Burrows 4-10-00 Cieren Fallon 9/2 Jt Fav

2 Overwrite – Mark Johnston 3-8-13 Tom Greatrex 9/2 Jt Fav

3 You’re Hired – Amanda Perrett 7-9-11 Darragh Keenan 10/1

14 ran

Non-Runners: Always Fearless (Going), Lord Clenaghcastle (Going), Sword Beach (withdrawn,  Rule 4 does not apply)

Time: 1m 54.65s

Distances: ½, 2¼

Tote Win: £3.90 Places: £1.70, £2.20, £3.40 Exacta: £25.90

Owen Burrows – 1st winner at the Qatar Goodwood Festival

Cieren Fallon – 2nd winner at the Qatar Goodwood Festival